On being a broom (and why I can’t just relax and enjoy shit)

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 10.18.46 PM

HA note: The following is reprinted with permission from Kierstyn King’s blog Bridging the Gap.  It was originally published on December 31, 2013.

I realized why I have a hard time relaxing and taking actual vacations and even enjoying the holidays. 

As a child all of the times that most children have “off” to play and relax and do their own thing, I never had. We never had summer break.

We took Nov-Jan off every year instead, and during those two months we never rested. During those two months, my mom made lists, my mom kept us running ragged either baking or crafting or “ministering” to other people, or doing deep seasonal cleaning. I remember, vividly, begging, all of us, begging to keep one day in two months free so we could just watch a movie and relax and not make cookies (or make cookies that we actually got to eat instead of for everyone and their aunt).

We had “parties” that I don’t ever remember being fun, because the entire time leading up we spent deep cleaning, and cooking, and setting up, and then when it was party time I had to help mom keep the party and the guests organized and on-schedule, and I had to make sure the dessert came out of the oven at the right time, and often was interrupted with some kind of care-taking need in the middle of a group activity.

My mom hated it when I planned my own (graduation) party and I told her she couldn’t do anything and that I had no plans, and we were just going to hangout, maybe watch a movie and order pizza. Even then she still tried to dictate what happened when. I was still pulled aside. It was still stressful.

All I remember my mom doing during breaks, and actually for the majority of my childhood, was sitting in her recliner: writing us lists of things to do, and getting upset when we didn’t do them all fast enough for her.

Her version of helping and “being productive” was sitting there, after giving us our lists, watching us do the things on the list and telling us what we were doing wrong or should do differently, or coming up with more things to do simultaneously.

There is no pleasing my mother.

We had “breaks” solely so we could do chores and things we couldn’t have done while we were “schooling”. Forget that we didn’t school on Fridays, because Fridays were intense cleaning days, you know, on top of normal cleaning all week.

Even my dad, my mom would write huge “honey-do” lists for on his one week off (you know, when we kids just wanted to play and have him rescue our toys from the packaging). My mom was a slave-driver who bred her own slaves.

And yes, I do feel like I and all my siblings are just slaves in my mothers eyes. She wouldn’t say it that way, but that’s exactly how they live(d) and practice(d), and people wonder why I have horrible self esteem issues.

I mean, I was told, outright, for years, that my purpose and job in life (while I was home) was to serve my “family” (i.e. mom). I felt, literally (I cannot emphasize this enough) like I was just a broom with arms, legs, and a heartbeat. I remember standing in the kitchen one day, fighting back tears, devastated as I was doing two things at once, that I didn’t have 8 arms, because I could. not. keep. my. mother. happy. I could not physically clean, and cook, and hold the baby, and do the laundry all at the same time. I was human, I ONLY HAD TWO ARMS, and yet, there was my mom, in her chair in the next room, berating and harassing me because while I was cleaning the dishes and cooking and had a toddler draped around my leg, I hadn’t yet started the laundry, or brought her snack.

If I was “caught” doing anything that loosely resembled “relaxing” that was immediately rectified with other tasks (unless it was bedtime, or the like 90 minutes of “free time” I had that rapidly shrank). I feel horribly guilty if I am not doing some kind of mundane work when I could be, because I was never allowed to breathe.

I wasn’t a person until I ran away.

Before that, I was nothing more than a breathing, walking, broom.

3 comments

  • My mom is horrible about chores and working. It’s 24/7 working and doing chores. Thankfully we could escape outside, and we would literally crawl in the window of the back bedroom because if mom saw us, we’d have to come back in for more chores, Lol.

  • Concerned, you are a troll.
    I have actually had the courage to tell my mom some things like this to her face because I dont care how much it hurts, anymore. I, personally, felt run ragged by my mother who was too busy homeschooling all my younger siblings to keep up with the household cleaning. My brothers were in their teens before they began folding their OWN laundry, not to mention everyone else’s like I had been doing for almost a decade.
    I would often tell myself, (like Kiery would imagine herself a broom) that I was a maid. I was NOT a part of the family, I was there to cook and clean and fold. Why? Because it hurt less to think of myself in this way than to be a daughter and to feel so used and unloved.
    I literally cauterized my emotions and feelings in order to be able to function. That is why I am able to hurt my mom and dad by being blunt to their faces. They are not my parents. They are the people who housed me in exchange for my work.

  • Who is the troll listed here as “Concerned”, anyway ? One thing that never ceases to amaze me is how these parents actually think they need to do all that b.s. like baking, crazy cleaning sessionss, and breeding all these obviously unwanted kids, which they abuse !! How can they possibly believe that it makes Jesus look good when they do such crazy things ? The mothers described here DO sound like classic narcissists, who want underlings to do the hard work, and make THEM look good. Look up narcisstic paents in google-all kind of stuff comes up.

Leave a comment