What Do a Sheikh and a Homeschool Leader Have in Common?

Screen Shot 2013-09-30 at 6.44.30 PM

HA note: The following is reprinted with permission from Julie Anne Smith’s blog Spiritual Sounding Board. It was originally published on September 29, 2013.

Just how close is the homeschool fundamentalist version of Patriarchy to the Islamic version?

I think it’s pretty darn close.  Check this out.

Remember this from Christian Homeschool Leader and Pastor Kevin Swanson?

Kevin Swanson – Little Tiny Fetuses Embedded in the Womb

“I’m beginning to get some evidence from certain doctors and certain scientists that have done research on women’s wombs after they’ve gone through the surgery, and they’ve compared the wombs of women who were on the birth control pill to those who were not on the birth control pill. And they have found that with women who are on the birth control pill, there are these little tiny fetuses, these little babies, that are embedded into the womb. They’re just like dead babies. They’re on the inside of the womb. And these wombs of women who have been on the birth control pill effectively have become graveyards for lots and lots of little babies.”

Doesn’t it kind of sound like this?

driving

Driving affects ovaries and pelvis, Saudi sheikh warns women

Saudi women seeking to challenge a de facto ban on driving should realize that this could affect their ovaries and pelvises, Sheikh Saleh bin Saad al-Luhaydan, a judicial and psychological consultant to the Gulf Psychological Association, told Saudi news website sabq.org.

Driving “could have a reverse physiological impact. Physiological science and functional medicine studied this side [and found] that it automatically affects ovaries and rolls up the pelvis. This is why we find for women who continuously drive cars their children are born with clinical disorders of varying degrees,” Sheikh al-Luhaydan said.

Of course Twitter is having fun with this:

twitter

If I do not respond quickly to comments between the hours of 8AM and 12PM, it is because I am out driving, rolling up my pelvis.  Please pray.

3 comments

  • Headless Unicorn Guy

    Every time I see a picture of Kevin Swanson, my first reaction is always “This guy looks like a high school dork!”

    I wonder if he was a high school dork/Omega Male who now has an opportunity to be The Alpha Male (by Divine Right) and is throwing his weight around for payback. As a high school Omega myself, I understand the lure of POWER and the appeal of Payback.

  • Philosophical Perspectives

    What.

    Gosh, Swanson is such an asshole. Maybe some day I’ll be able to tell him that to his face.

  • So if driving and being on the pill hurt my ovaries and line my uterus with dead babies, what does carrying a weapon in Afghanistan or driving a HMMWV do to me?? I wonder…

Leave a comment